Hidden Donegal

Hidden Donegal

Published Published February 8, 2023

A book for all lovers of Donegal

Hidden Donegal was launched on Saturday December 3rd at the Regional Cultural Centre Letterkenny. This new exciting 200-page coffee table book showcases Donegal’s natural beauty through black and white photographs combined with a collection of poetry from almost 30 individual Donegal Poets.

Hidden Donegal is a unique compilation of almost 200 of Michael Sugrue’s photographs showcasing perspectives of Donegal in collaboration with many Donegal poets, reflecting the county’s literary and artistic heritage. Michael is probably better known as the Breast Surgeon, since he reconnected with Donegal 14 years ago, after 20 years in Sydney. His previous recent photographic book Donegal’s Atlantic Way sold over 2500 copies raising 30,000 for charity.

Hidden Donegal has contributions in both Irish and English from 28 poets, including Moya Brennan, Daniel O’Donnell, William Campbell and Denise Blake to name but a few.   Moya Brennan in her forward in the book, states that Hidden Donegal is a book “to share with family and friends around the world to cherish and enjoy”.

Income raised from Hidden Donegal will aid Donegal Hospice, Donegal Clinical Research Academy and Breast Centre Northwest Research.

Books will be available from (cost 40€)

Alexanrda’s Book Shop Ballybofey

Amelia Main Street Letterkenny

Bookmark Letterkenny Shopping Centre

Bookmark Courtyard Shopping Centre

Breast Unit Letterkenny

Conn’s Camera Clarendon St Dublin2

Charlie Browns Bookshop Middle Street Galway

Donegal Hospice

Fanad Lighthouse

Inish Pharmacy’s Inishowen

McAuliffe’s Dunfanaghy

MacFadden’s Shop Ramelton

Four Masters Donegal Town

O’Donnell’s Pharmacy

Silver Tassie Hotel Letterkenny


Contributing Poets include;

Gerard Beirne

Denise Blake

Eamonn Bonner

Moya Brennan

Valerie Bryce

William Campbell

Annemarie Ní Churreáin

Maureen Curran

Lorraine Carey

James Finnegan

Geraldine Galligan

Nick Griffiths

Deirdre Hines

Imelda Maguire

Averil Meehan

Proinsias Mac a’Bhaird

Aodhan McCardle

Ray McDermott

Seamus McDermott

Celine McGlynn

Bernadette O’Donnell

Daniel O’Donnell

Dubhan Ó Longáin

Donal.J. O’Sullivan

Liam Porter

Mary Turley McGrath

Michael Sugrue

Máire Dinny Wren

Thanks to the following for their support:

Donegal County Council,


Tata Consultancy Service Allied Irish Banks,

Údarás na Gaeltachta

Atlantic Technological University Donegal Campus